JAT Action Alert: 11 December 2003

( Go to:    JAT Alerts Main Page   or   JAT-Action Home Page  )

DATE:      11 December, 2003
TYPE: Action Item
SCOPE: Boston Area
SUBJ: Tell Congress to Oppose Geneva Accord

This is a slightly modified version of an alert from the Zionist Organization of America.


Resolutions have been introduced in both the House and Senate praising the "Geneva Accord," a "peace plan" devised by former left-wing Israeli politician Yossi Beilin and Yasser Abed Rabbo, a long-time advisor to PLO terrorist leader Yasser Arafat.

The "Geneva Accord," which former Israeli Prime Minister Ehud Barak calls "a delusion," is written as if the failures from the 1993 Oslo peace agreements never happened.

Substantively, the Accord fails to resolve the issue of the so-called Palestinian 'right of return', re-divides Jerusalem, turns the Temple Mount over to the Palestinians, and avoids recognizing Israel as a "Jewish state."

Disturbingly, the "Geneva Accord" was negotiated in defiance of Israel's democratically elected government. Israeli leaders from both parties have overwhelmingly rejected the agreements, made by Beilin who is a private citizen. If American citizens made private international treaties in the name of the United States, they would be sent to jail under the Logan Act. Congress would not praise such private American citizens, nor should they recognize the "Geneva Accord," negotiated by a private Israeli citizen. For these reasons, it is imperative that your Congressmember and Senators be made aware that constituents like you are strongly opposed to any resolution commending the "Geneva Accord."


Write to or telephone your elected officials asking them to OPPOSE the Geneva Accord. Tell them that Israel's security should be left up to the democratic government of Israel. All other efforts should not be legitimized.


Visit the AIPAC Web site for contact information for your Representatives and Senators. Note that some members of Congress accept email only from those in their own district.

Majority Leader of the Senate:

Sen. Bill Frist (R-TN)
461 Dirksen Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510-4205
Phone:    202-224-3344
Fax: 202-228-1264
Email: use Web form

Minority Leader of the Senate:

Sen. Thomas Daschle (D-SD)
509 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510-4103
Phone:    202-224-2321
Fax: 202-224-6603
Email: use Web form

Massachusetts Senators:

Sen. Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA)
317 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510-2101
Phone:    202-224-4543
Fax: 202-224-2417
Email: use Web form

Sen. John Kerry (D-MA)
304 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510-2102
Phone:    202-224-2742
Fax: 202-224-8525
Email: use Web form

Valid HTML 4.01!